Gift #170: “Emma’s Chemise” knitting project completed

At the beginning of September, I blogged about a new knitting project that I had started, a tunic from the Interweave publication, Jane Austen Knits Spring 2012 issue.  I finished it a few weeks back and finally took some pictures.  I wore it for the first time to church last Sunday.  It’s one of the first garments I’ve made and I was really pleased with how it turned out.  

It’s been an interesting experience to make a piece of clothing entirely by hand.  It took about a month to make it, working on it in the evenings in between other projects.  In our culture, nearly everything is made by machines – quick and impersonal.  Making a garment myself made me feel closer to the women of generations past who knit and sewed all their family’s garments with their own hands.  I read once that a skilled dressmaker could handsew a dress in 40 hours.  Can you imagine that!  It was such a different way of life when sewing and knitting were necessities, not just hobbies as they are now.  I think one of the reasons I enjoy knitting so much is its history.   When I pick up my needles, I’m one of millions of individuals from ages past, present, and those yet to come, who are all bonded together by the thrill of watching a ball of yarn transform into something lovely and functional right in our hands.  It’s pure magic, and our needles are our wands. 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #170: “Emma’s Chemise” knitting project completed

  1. I like the way you say you are bonded to knitters of the past. Great piece of knitting.

Leave a Reply

