Gift #575: From the Greenhouse

Over the weekend I went to the IMA (Indianapolis Museum of Art).  I’ve only been once before to the main museum.  But on this trip I discovered that they have nature trails, several gardens, and a greenhouse!  Now there’s not a whole lot going on in the gardens just yet (everything’s still under snow), but the greenhouses were home to many lovely green things.  I took a lot of pictures, so you’ll be touring the greenhouses for several days.  First of all, I was thrilled to see that one of the greenhouses was an orangery.  (I love saying that word, it’s one of my favorites… doesn’t it remind you of Victorian England?)  There were several lemon and orange trees

image

image

Lovely!  And they had a flowering maple seedling for sale.  I’ve never seen one of these before.

image

And these oxalis plants were amazing.  I wanted to take home all of them.  I don’t know if you can tell from the pictures, but some had soft green-rose foliage and others had vibrant dark purple leaves, which was striking against the yellow flowers.  I’m looking for these at the nursery as soon as we get some flowers in.

image

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift #575: From the Greenhouse

  1. What beautiful photos, Sarah ;-) Looking forward to this series of posts from the greenhouses and gardens. Oxalis are easy to grow, and you can order the bulbs here: http://www.easytogrowbulbs.com/c-176-oxalis-flowering-shamrocks.aspx I ordered a bag a year ago and split it with a friend. We both had lots of shamrock plants with deep purple leaves! Best wishes, WG

  2. Thanks for the link and the comment! I’m pleased to hear they are easy to grow :-). I really liked their beautiful foliage and delicate appearance. It’s still a couple months before we can plant, but I can start dreaming now. Blessings, Sarah

Leave a Reply

