Gift #117: Starting a new project

There is nothing quite so thrilling as standing at the beginning of a journey, wondering where the journey will take you.  Bilbo Baggins advises caution, noting “that it’s a dangerous business, going out your front door.”  I have thrown caution to the wind, however, and have started a very ambitious knitting project.  I have wanted to knit it for several months, as it was love at first sight.  Interweave Press produces a knitting magazine called Jane Austen Knits  twice each year. This lovely pattern (Emma’s Chemise)was featured in the spring issue.  I found the very yarn used in the model in a lovely fawn brown color on clearance at a local knit store and have been waiting to finish up a project so I could start on this one.  I’m very excited, but a little nervous.  I haven’t knit anything quite this involved before.  Here’s a picture of the swatch I made this evening.  I’m happy to report that, as of this writing, I have cast on over 200 stitches and have done a few rounds.  And, the cast on join was not twisted!  Yay!  Hooray for a good start. 

 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

