Gift # 158: Fall butterfly

I was looking back through my pictures of the trip to Spring Mill and I found this one that I wanted to share for today’s post.  I’m on a never-ending quest to take pictures of the Lepidoptera order.  Every time I see one flitting about I attempt to take its picture.  This is usually a vain endeavor because trying to capture a butterfly or moth as a picture is as difficult as pinning down a shadow.  When I saw this beauty at Spring Mill, I first thought it was a leaf floating down from a tree.  But then she settled on a patch of grass and spread her wings out.  She sat very prettily and was obliging to let me take her picture.  May I introduce you to the Common Buckeye butterfly?  There’s nothing common about her.  She’s as beautiful as any fall leaf, no doubt about it.  In fact, she’s been painted by autumn’s brush as well – just look at those browns, oranges, reds, and purples in her wings!  Just magnificent! 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

