Gift #237: Bluebirds

It’s that time of year…the hardest part of the year for me is mid Jan through February.  The Christmas lights and town decorations are gone, the days of 20 degree weather are fast losing their charm, the days are overcast, and I long for greeny things.  In short, I have spring fever.  Now there are lots of wonderful things about winter, and I’m doing my best to enjoy and experience as many of them as possible.  But something is stirring in my soul for little green shoots to peak up about the soil and to feel the velvety carpet of moss.  To make matters worse, my little feathered friends have made themselves scarce and have decided it’s better to stay fluffed up in their homes rather than brave the cold for a sunflower seed or a peanut.  I can’t say that I blame them (I’d do the same if I had a choice), but I do miss them terribly.  But yesterday, we were still enjoying what could optimistically be called a warm front as it climbed out of the 30s briefly before plunging into the 10s today.  And some of the birds were persuaded to come to the feeders.  And then I saw it…a flash of blue in the woods and then another.  Unmistakable.  They were bluebirds!  I saw two beautiful, springtime birds!!  They fluttered about in the woods, reminding me of the sweet promise of spring and that it would be coming soon.  What a special gift they were in the middle of January!  And I was so grateful to God for Him directing my attention to see them.  I found this quote from WL Dawson, author of Birds of Ohio, that seems perfect for how I felt when I saw the blue missives from heaven. 

“How the waiting countryside thrills with joy when Bluebird brings us the first word of returning spring.  Reflecting heaven from his back and the ground from his breast, he floats between sky and earth like the winged voice of hope.”

May the hope of spring touch you this week.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #237: Bluebirds

  1. Larry says:

    Hey, don’t forget Groundhog Day comes real soon! Now THERE’s something to bolster the Winter blues! (Or maybe just here in Pennsylvania.)

Leave a Reply

