Gift #249: A Hobbit’s Hole

I’ve spent a lot off time in the company of Mr. Bilbo Baggins this week.  I finished reading The Hobbit this week and went to see the movie again today.  Last night, I was thinking about Bilbo and all he’s taught me and I made a necklace to commemorate the special place The Hobbit has in my heart.  Quite a few months ago, these little brass doors went on sale at one of my craft stores and I bought a few.  They remind me very much of Bilbo’s front door of Bag End (though his door was green) and I used one as the focal point to the necklace.  I added pressed glass Czech beads and made some leafy dangles to remind me of how much Bilbo loved his green gardens about his home in the Shire.  I finished off the necklace with green silk ribbon.  For the inside of the door, I printed Bilbo’s words “the road goes ever on and on, down from the road where it began” on decorative paper, covered the paper with mica to protect it, and glued it in.  There are pictures below.  I wore the necklace and a pair of matching earrings to the movie today. 

As Bilbo returns to his home from his great adventures in the east, he reflects on all he’s seen and his happiness to be coming home at last.  I thought about his words as I made the necklace. 

Roads go ever ever on
Over rock and under tree,
By caves where never sun has shone,
By streams that never find the sea:
Over snow by winter sown,
And through the merry flowers of June,
Over grass and over stone,
And under mountains in the moon.
 
Roads go ever ever on
Under cloud and under star,
Yet feet that wandering have gone
Turn at last to home afar.
Eyes that fire and sword have seen
And horror in the halls of stone
Look at last on meadows green
And trees and hills they long have known.   

 HH1

HH3

Inside the locket

Inside the locket

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gift #249: A Hobbit’s Hole

  1. 2amscrapper says:

    Here from Red Lead. This is delightful!

  2. Dottee Odom says:

    Soooo cute!! The little door is adorable and is a perfect focal point!

  3. Kathleen Leanna says:

    Sarah, your necklace is enchanting. Love the colors….. All so pretty!

  4. Christi says:

    Stunning!!! I am not familiar with the Hobbits (haven’t read the book or seen the movie) but if this is where they live, lucky them 🙂

Leave a Reply

