Gift #251: Books

When I saw this quote posted on Facebook, I knew I had to showcase it on my blog. Gregory Maguire is one if my favorite authors, and I’ve blogged about his work on previous occasions. His sentiment perfectly captures the fairy tale quality of a beautiful story. And all good books do leave us larger and better than when we first met them. Books are miracles bound on paper. And so, for this quote, I photographed some of my special vintage books. Included is a first printing of Lewis’ the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and one of Tolkien’s volumes. I collect antique natural history books, some of which are shown in the photograph. One of the most unusual books on my shelves is called The Last Mortage, and it is the Bible written as a long poem. The open book is a reselling of the life of Christ from the perspective of a young girl writing her father letters. I hope you enjoy the photo and that you have fallen into a good book recently.

Blessings to you,
Sarah

20130205-213540.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

