Gift #360: Fields of Gold

Last year I said goodbye to Denver with a song that meant a lot to me and so I thought that might be a nice way to end my days in Denver this year too.  This is probably my very imagefavorite song.  I first heard it in Denver and it’s reminded me of my home ever since.  It is especially dear to me on this trip because we got to hear Sting sing it in person at his concert at Red Rocks.  It is meant as a love song between two people, but for me it is a love song with my Denver.  It’s high summer and there are fields of wildflowers in bloom.  Everything is still glistening with raindrops from an afternoon rain and the air is moist and cool. The deep blue sky seems to reach to forever and the sun warms my face.   I inhale the sweet smell of flowers and pine and rain.  The wind brushes against my cheek and whispers “Come home”.

You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Upon the fields of barley
You’ll forget the sun in his jealous sky
As we walk in fields of gold

So she took her love
For to gaze awhile
Upon the fields of barley
In his arms she fell as her hair came down
Among the fields of gold

Will you stay with me, will you be my love
Among the fields of barley
We’ll forget the sun in his jealous sky
As we lie in fields of gold

See the west wind move like a lover so
Upon the fields of barley
Feel her body rise when you kiss her mouth
Among the fields of gold
I never made promises lightly
And there have been some that I’ve broken
But I swear in the days still left
We’ll walk in fields of gold

Many years have passed since those summer days
Among the fields of barley
See the children run as the sun goes down
Among the fields of gold
You’ll remember me when the west wind moves
Upon the fields of barley
You can tell the sun in his jealous sky
When we walked in fields of gold

And so I say farewell to my beautiful Denver…until the next time I can see you again…I love you.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

