Gift #365: Rock gardens

I love succulents.  And I love rocks.  And I have a hard time imagining what could be better than a garden filled with tons of succulents and wildflowers tucked among rock outcroppings.  Fortunately there is such a place – it is the Alpine Rock Garden at the Denver Botanic Gardens.  This is an amazing garden, where every place you look, your eyes are filled with something spectacular.  I love this garden so much.  I wish I could live here, or at least work here to tend and nurture the plants.

image

A few months ago I read a book from the library of a collection of garden essays.  One author wrote about his first experience cultivating a rock garden as a summer project as a teen.  he talked about how he spent months moving rocks into the garden and hunting and collecting plants for his special place.  That summer changed his life and he Decided to pursue gardening as a life occupation.   At the end of the essay, there was a note saying that the author was the head horticulturist of the rock alpine gardens at Denver Botanic Gardens,  I couldn’t believe it!  Here I was reading am. essay by the very man who helped create one of my favorite places!  I hope you enjoy the pictures from this lovely garden.

image

image

 

image

 

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

