Gift #376: Zorro Party

El Zorro rides again!  Yesterday a friend hosted a Zorro party at her home and it was lots of fun.  She was kind enough to involve me in the planning and I got to make invitations and bring some themed goodies to the party.  I made a layered Mexican bean dip, with the sign of El Zorro in the middle with olives.

image

And I made some cupcakes!  Somewhere in the wee late hours of night, as I lay awake in my bed, I had an epiphany for the cupcakes.  I decided I would make chocolate “Z”s for the cake decorations.  I had not done this sort of thing before, so it took a while to get the hang of it.  But I  was pleased with how they turned out and I only snapped 4 of them!  (I anticipated this and made extras).  I really liked how they turned out.  They were chocolate cupcakes with vanilla icing and chocolate sprinkles, with the famous Z on top.

image

Our host had provided a spectacular feast for us – enchiladas and a taco bar with all sorts of toppings, cornbread, corn salad, fruits and veggies…it was wonderful!  After dinner we all watched “Zorro the Gay Blade”  a fun, 80s film starring George Hamilton as the famous masked hero, Diego de la Vega.  He also plays  Diego’s brother, just home from the British Navy, who takes up the mask and some wild costumes after Diego injures his foot and cannot serve the people for a while.  It was lots of fun to watch with a large group because we laughed the whole time.

A special treat of the evening was getting to meet my friend’s chickens.  They are grown up ladies now – and with beautiful red plumage.  They came outside the coop at the offering of cheese slices and it was fun to watch them run around and to get to feed them.  Here’s an “action shot” of some them.

image

It was a great evening spent in the company of friends.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

