Gift #401: Steve Martin

My parents first knew him as a stand up comedian in the 70s.  I first knew him as a favorite actor.  Three Amigos was one of the first movies I remember seeing as a girl.  My dad would haul the TV out of the closet and set it up on the piano bench in the living room.image  It was a treat to watch a movie on Friday nights, with pillows piled high on the floor.  Over the years we added many more of his films to our collection.  In fact, my brother and I added it up and Mr. Martin ranked #2 in how many of our movies he appeared.  (Oddly enough, Tim Curry came up as #1, but that is a story for another day…)  Later, as I got to know more about him, I discovered he had his first job at Disneyland, beloved place to my heart!  And he even hosted a special film for Disneyland’s 50th birthday celebration that played in the Main Street Theater.  He’s also an accomplished musician, and last night I got to see him in person for the very first time!  He’s touring the country, playing banjo with a bluegrass band called Steep Canyon Rangers.  I’ve never heard of them before, but they are famous in the bluegrass community.  They played all their own compositions and it was phenomenal!  Steve Martin was everything I’d hoped he be in person – funny, warm, interesting, and friendly.  It was a delightful experience and I’m so happy to have seen him.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

