Gift #432: Walk in the woods

Today was spent in the company of trees.  Since I had today off from work and the weather had cooled back down to the 80s, it was a perfect day for a picnic at Eagle Creek.  It was nice to be back, since it had been about a month since my last visit.  Most of the forest was still a brilliant hue of green.  But a few telltale leaves announced that fall would be coming soon.  Whispers of color have edged into some of the stands of trees.  I’ve been noticing a few trees nudging their way towards autumn colors and have largely kept my excitement to myself, in deference to summer.  But now that September is here, I feel no shame in announcing that autumn is on the move!!  And here are the first pictures I’ve taken of foliage.  The colors are always more dramatic in person, but trust me, they are there in the photos.  I saw mostly yellow today and a tiny bit of orange.  So beautiful!

image

image

image

And then this evening, fall was officially inaugurated by the first watching of “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown”!  A perfect beginning for a new autumn.  Hope everyone enjoyed a restful Labor Day.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

