Gift #450: Early fall picnic

The weather this week has been incredibly beautiful.  It’s been sunny with blue skies and in the mid-70s.  It’s absolutely perfect.  So much so that staying at work has taken remarkable willpower and dedication.  All I want to do is take long, long walks in the afternoon.   Such was the call of the outdoors on me this evening that I decided to dine alfresco on my deck to enjoy the early fall weather.

image

I hauled out my little table and a chair, listened to Pandora on my ipad, and enjoyed the breeze and the company of flowers and trees.  Oh, and the company of my little frog friend – he was out on the lillypads getting some sun.  And on a side note, there are actually two frogs!!!  Hip Hip Horray!  I saw a second one out today.  It was a lovely dinner.

image

I made a “grown up” grilled cheese sandwich that I had seen on the internet.  It’s made with mozzarella cheese, tomatoes, avocados, and pesto.  For the first time, I grilled the sandwich in olive oil instead of using butter.  I don’t know why, but it had never occurred to me to use olive oil.  It was so much better!  The flavor perfectly complemented the cheese and veggies and olive oil is a much healthier alternative.  No more butter on grilled cheese from now on.  I hope you are enjoying the first days of fall and getting lots of fresh air and sunshine, wherever you are.

Blessings to you

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #450: Early fall picnic

  1. What an amazing sandwich! Looks simply delicious. And to think I settled for Pam on my last grilled cheese…. olive oil is a great idea! I hope you have many more afternoons and evenings to enjoy outside in this beautiful weather- WG

Leave a Reply

