Gift #489: Forest Fox

How are you on this autumn day?  I hope that you are enjoying the blessings of the season.  I’m glad it’s Friday and am looking forward to the upcoming weekend.  I’m hoping to visit a local park and admire the fading foliage.  We’ve had some heavy winds this week and most of the leaves decided they’d rather dance with the wind than stay with the trees.  I’ve been feeling crafty (as in I’ve been creating things, not feeling deceitful or clever) and have been creating jewelry, making cards, and knitting away.  Today I wanted to share one of the jewelry sets I made a few weeks ago using some wonderful polymer clay beads by Heather Powers.  I loved this fox and wanted the necklace I created with him to feel like woodlands in autumn so he would be at home.  It took a while of playing around with different beads and layouts, until the design finally told me when it was finished.

image

The little fox reminds me of a book that I loved when I was a little girl called One Fine Day.  It’s an  Armenian folktale about a fox who drank a woman’s milk and she catches his tail.  He spends the rest of the day craftily bargaining to get his tail back.  Of course he does eventually reunite with tail and it was a fine day after all.

image

And here are the earrings that I made to match the necklace.  I use those little sparrows on about 80% of the jewelry I make.  And the leaves in the back are Heather Powers’ as well – they have a lovely luminescent quality to them.

image

Hope you all enjoy a beautiful weekend.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

