Gift #502: Giving Thanks – a prayer for life

While I was in Cincinnati last, I found a wonderful little book called Giving Thanks by Katherine Patterson.  It is a compilation of prayers, poems, and blessings from multiple cultural traditions and is richly illustrated with beautiful paper cutouts by Pamela Dalton.  The book is written to be engaging to children, but it speaks to those of all ages.  I thought it might be a nice idea to blog about some of my favorites from the book in the days leading up to Thanksgiving.   Our selection for today comes from an Indian prayer which I think is lovely.  I would like to learn it by heart and pray it each morning.  I hope it is a blessing to you.

As Thou hast set the moon in the sky to be the poor man’s lantern, So let Thy light shine in my dark life and lighten my path;

As the rice is sown in the water and brings forth grain in great abundance, so let Thy word be sown in our midst that the harvest may be great;

And as the banyan sends forth its branches to take root in the soil, so let Thy life take root in our lives.   Amen.

image

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

