Gift #545:Pomegranates

Pomegranates are a favorite fruit of mine.  Healthy and delicious, they pack flavor and juiciness in every bite.  They look nondescript on the outside, but inside they are full of vibrant rubies.

image

It’s quite fun to prepare pomegranates for eating.  You actually eat the seeds (or arils) out of the fruit and digging for them makes one feel like a miner in search of buried treasure.  In case you’ve not had the pleasure, it’s certainly worth the effort.  I usually excavate for arils by sectioning the fruit.  Then pry the rubies out of their membranes into a shallow bowl of water.  The good arils will sink down and the not-so-good will float, along with any bits of membrane you accidentally pry out with the arils.  Discard the floaters and drain off the water.  I usually paw through them, looking for any mushy or brown-colored arils that didn’t float and I discard these as well.  Usually you can get about a cup of delicious arils from one pomegranate.  Or, you can prebuy harvested arils at some supermarkets, but where’s the fun in that, honestly?  It’s important to note that the arils will burst if pressure is applied and the juice stains.  So I don’t process pomegranates in my best clothes because splashes do occur.  The arils keep for a few days, but will start to ferment after a bit so use them up quick.  I admit this is rarely a problem for me because they disappear at lightening speed.  They are so yummy!  And that burst of flavor and juice – addicting!  I must admit that until today they’ve only been snacks.  I’ve never cooked with them (aside from throwing them on a salad).  While browsing pinterest a couple of weeks ago, I found this recipe for pomegranate bark and I knew I needed to give it a go.  I whipped up a batch today and can tell you it’s a keeper.  Bittersweet chocolate with pomegranates and crystallized ginger – wow!  It’s luxury for the tongue!  My only bit of caution here is that the chocolate melts pretty quick when handling, so chill it well before breaking and break it up quick.  And you’ll need to eat your piece up quick too or it will melt all over your hands.  If you’re anything like me, that won’t be a problem.  If you’re not a fan of dark chocolate, I expect any type would do as well.  Hmm… white chocolate might be an excellent choice too!

image

 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

