Gift #549: Roses

A dear friend and coworker retired earlier this month.  Due to bad weather, I was unable to attend her farewell lunch.  We had a separate lunch together earlier, but I had hoped to see her again before she moved away.  She’s safely ensconced in Florida now, where the snowy days of Indiana are only a memory.  She was always so kind to me and I miss her terribly.  I keep walking by her desk, thinking I’ll stop to chat with her and then remembering she’s gone.  On the day I finally got to work once our “polar vortex” cleared, I had a special goodbye present from her – one dozen roses adorned my desk.

image

She knew I loved flowers and would often bring me flowers from her garden.  It was a special joy to receive them and I felt like they were a special “farewell” message from her.  Of course the flowers brightened up my desk, but it was her thoughtfulness that warmed my heart the most.  So if my friend, you are reading this, thank you… and I wish you a wonderful retirement.

image

Blessings to you,
Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

