Gift #554: Elder Tree Shawl

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.”  Robert Louis Stevenson

image

May I introduce the Elder Tree Shawl?  Fresh off the blocking board and ready to be worn!  It’s the latest of my knitted shawl frenzy.  I bought the yarn in Texas over Christmas vacation visiting my brother and his family.  I envision this shawl as the perfect companion for long walks amid the trees.  The image that kept coming to mind as I knit it was from Lord of the Rings.  It’s the scene where Arwen walks alone through the forest as the leaves fall gently around her.  That was one of the most beautiful shots in the films and it has always filled me with a haunting, piercing longing.    I wanted to create a piece like that – full of the mystery and memory of old forests.  Something that looked as if it took form from the trees themselves.  This is about the closest I can envision to cloaking oneself in the spirit of woodlands.  I think any wood-elf would be pleased to wear it.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

