Gift #618: Spring prayer

Whew!  It’s been a busy week.  I’ve been out late with friends the past couple of nights so I haven’t blogged and now it feels like it’s been way too long since typing on the ol’ keyboard.  I’m reading a new book called God of Becoming and Relationship by Rabbi Artson, which I found at my local library.  It has been an interesting read, though a bit different from what I’m used to.  I wanted to read it because it was written by a Jewish Rabbi and I was interested in his interpretation of a Judeo-Christian worldview.  Another draw was that the book focuses (as the title aptly describes) on relational life with God, or what has been historically and biblically termed “covenant”.  I really can’t wait to get to this part (right now I’m still in intro stuff).  His view of God is one of a creative, engaged God who continuously draws near to all of His creation with the offer of intimacy; as opposed to a view of a more static, withdrawn overseer of creation which can sometimes easily become the perception we latch on to.  In my reading today, the author quoted this stanza from the medieval poet Abraham ibn Ezra.  I fell in love with it and thought I would share it with you today.  It is a lovely meditation and perfect for this time of year.

I see You in the starry field,
I see You in the harvest’s yield,
In every breath, in every sound,
An echo of Your name is found.
The blade of grass, the simple flower,
Bear witness to your matchless power.

image

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

