Gift #635: Take Ten

Today I have some exciting news to share with you all!  It’s been very hard to keep it a secret, but now it’s official.  I’m the guest artist in the summer edition of Take Ten!!  The magazine is out on shelves as of today!

image

Take Ten is published by Stampington & Co and is one of the premier stamping and card-making magazines with world-wide readership.  It’s  thrilling opportunity to be their guest artist for this issue.  I had been invited to submit a portfolio of cards for consideration of the guest artist feature a  bit over a year ago.  I had rather given up hope of hearing from them again, till I received an email in April announcing I would be the guest artist for the June issue!!  Hip Hip Hooray!  (oh, and would I please answer 20 interview questions to be read by people all over the world within 5 days.  – yeah, that was stressful)

When I was in Nashville a few weekends ago, I saw it on the shelves of my local stamping store, PaperTrix.  That was the first time I laid eyes on it, and it was incredibly special to do so in that little store.  The owners have been incredibly kind and generous with me.  She has told me about conventions, got me signed up into classes with well-known stamping instructors, and been a continuous source of encouragement to me to develop my skills in the craft.  She’s the one who urged me to start submitting my work for publication and believed that I could get published.   That I am guest artist this issue is because of her and her support.  She was so excited when I came in to visit and she had me sign a copy for them.

The point of the post isn’t really to “toot my own horn” so to speak, but to point out that you never know how your kind words, or time, or encouragement can make a difference to someone.  I never would have had the confidence to start submitting my cards on my own.  Without the encouragement of my family and my stamping friends, none of this would have happened.  And I would have missed out on so much – finding a hobby that is inspiring and creative, making friends in my stamping group and with shop owners, and being able to use my stamps and time to create cards for family, friends, and strangers in need of kindness.  Because I was encouraged to pursue stamping, I can use it as an outlet of blessing for others who are hurting and in need of a smile.  So never underestimate the power of an encouraging word.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift #635: Take Ten

  1. Parson's Creek Press© says:

    Hi, Sarah,   Congratulations! I reposted on FB and Twitter.. I hope you get more followers. 

      Are you planning to put your photography blog into a book…You do well and others might want it, if you’ve not already prepared for that.   Have a good week. I know it’s bound to be a creative one.

      Margery Kisby Warder, Author/Speaker Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Margery-Kisby-Warder/e/B00GPELE7I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/marge.warder.1

    ________________________________

  2. Congratulations, Sarah! What a wonderful experience, and I’m so happy for you! Now I’ll have to look around for a copy of the magazine to see your work. Best wishes, WG

Leave a Reply

