Gift #681: Family Celebrations

I haven’t blogged for a while because I’ve been enjoying some family time with my brother and his family in Texas.  It’s been since Christmas since I’ve seen them and it was wonderful to spend time with them again.  We also celebrated birthdays while we were all together.  August is a busy month because it’s my dad’s birthday and then my nephew’s birthday is the day after!  He turned one just a few days ago and my brother and sister-in-law hosted a party for him.  We were all able to help out a bit with preparations and that was lots of fun.  My nephew tasted his first cake, played with lots of presents, and was very excited about the party and all the people.  He had a Mickey Mouse themed party, complete with custom made t-shirt, which was too cute for me not to share with you.

image

One of my sister-in-law’s friends made it for him.  Isn’t it adorable?

image

And here was the cake for his birthday.  I love that the creator wrote out the sentiment with a script like that of Walt Disney.  And she made the Mickey Mouse cake toppers out of foam so that they would last as a reminder of his big day.

I knit him 5 pairs of socks and a matching beanie hat.  It was  happy coincidence that they matched in color to the theme of the party.  And yes,  I did give him some toys too – I’m not so incredibly heartless and out-of -touch with childhood as to forget children like toys better than clothes.

image

However, the best present given or received during the week was the time and love shared with my family.  I hope as we look back on our memories and photos of the celebration that we will remember that it is love given and received that fills our lives with joy.

Blessings to you,
Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

