Gift #704: Conversations with a Grasshopper

After several cold, rainy days the weather cleared up sufficiently to eat lunch outside without fear of getting wet.  It was really nice to be outside again enjoying the sun and the cool breeze.  And I had a visitor – Mr. Grasshopper paid a social call while I was eating lunch.  I greeted him and wished him a good afternoon.  He inclined his head in a polite acknowledgement.  I inquired after his health and he was in good spirits, having been drawn outside by the dancing rays of sun just outside his door.  I asked if he had been busy this summer storing food for the coming winter.  He stared at me blankly.  I gently reminded him of the fable of the ant and the grasshopper.  You may enjoy the warm summer days now, but winter will soon be here and you will want for comfort then if you don’t prepare.  His back leg twitched and he inched closer.  With an anxious expression, he asked how soon winter would be approaching and what did I do to prepare for winter.  I explained that I store preserved fruits and vegetables, grains, pack the freezers with leftovers… the usual stuff..oh, and I knit to have warm scarves and sweaters to keep the chill off.  At that, his sharp black eyes blinked in surprise and he hopped in for a closer look at my scarf.  He confided that his larder was indeed full in preparation for winter (courtesy of my fellow coworkers who continually drop food).  His hat would be fine after a good dusting, but alas, he did not have a warm knitted scarf.  He looked at me hopefully and, with antennae twitching, asked what I might charge to knit up a bright red woolen scarf.  Silly Mr. Grasshopper, I replied, I’d make you a scarf for free and I have just the thing for you in my stash!  And that, my dear friends, is how you win a grasshopper friend for life.

grasshopper1

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

