Gift #712: Crochet Foray

Ha!  That rhymes!  Well, today is all about crochet.   (and I’ll stop now with the rhymes – as that last one was unintentional)  My local yarn shop has a project of the month feature, which I am very fond of.  At the beginning of each month they feature a new project and if you complete it, you get a discount off the next project.  I try to participate as much as possible, though there have been a few months where it just got too busy or when I was a slow knitter and couldn’t finish in time.  I think this was August’s project- it was a filet crochet scarf.  This was my first experience with filet crochet  – a style where you crochet blocks of solid and open squares to form a pattern.

 

imageI used a more delicate yarn than the original sample and made it a bit longer.  I had been wanting to use this yarn for quite sometime – the color had beguiled me and I thought it would look nice with this project.  And I think it does.  It has a somewhat vintage look, although the colors are clean and classic enough to be modern, depending on how you style it.

Now we come to the point of the post.  I had a lot of yarn left over, so I decided a pair of mitts would be nice to match with the scarf.  I didn’t find a design that I thought coordinated well enough, so I decided to make my own.  I studied the filet crochet pattern and designed a motif that was similar, but scaled down for the mitts, and I worked out the sizing and shaping of the mitts myself.  I’m really thrilled to have taken my first step in designing a project now!  It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time, but felt it was too daunting to attempt.  And here they are!

image

I crocheted a scallop edge along the top to make it look finished and to give a little extra length to the mitts.  Then I decided instead of seaming up the sides that I would use buttons.  So I crocheted a picot edging along the side to make some loops for buttonholes.  I picked some taupe colored mother of pearl buttons with little vines etched on them and they were perfect.  They give a Victorian flair to the mitts which I love.  Here’s a side view of the buttons.

 

imageI’m so happy with my mitts and I can’t wait to wear them!  To help them stay up on my wrists I sewed a tiny clear snap that I can fasten above the thumb and to keep them secure.  (although that’s not a novel idea, I am pleasantly surprised I thought of it)  I have confidence now that I can maybe design after all and eventually put into stitches the things I dream of.  Thank you for allowing me to share and I hope it might inspire you to pursue some of the things you dream of doing too.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #712: Crochet Foray

  1. Those are gorgeous, Sarah! Well done! Fall is the best time of year to crochet, and the mitts and scarf will look wonderful together. Has it gotten cold enough to wear them out yet? Best wishes, WG

Leave a Reply

