Gift #730: Thanksgiving Praise #1

In this week leading up to Thanksgiving, we will be spending our time together reflecting on some Bible passages that reverberate with praise.  It has been hard to narrow them down for this year to fit within a week, but each day from now till Thanksgiving, we’ll share a prayer or psalm that declares thanks to our  magnificent God.  I hope that these will be a comfort and blessing to you.  Sometimes holidays have a tendency to marginalize people, and I think that’s certainly the case with Thanksgiving.  It’s especially hard for people going through a stage of loss to feel included in Thanksgiving celebrations of food, family, and home when one doesn’t have those things.   While it is certainly right to be thankful for the material blessings we enjoy, they are not the ultimate source of Thanksgiving.  That is found in the God who provides for us and daily blesses us with the riches of His goodness.  I hope these verses speak into your heart to remind you how much you are loved and give you reason to rejoice, no matter where you may find yourself today.

I will extol the Lord at all times;
    his praise will always be on my lips.
I will glory in the Lord;
    let the afflicted hear and rejoice.
Glorify the Lord with me;
    let us exalt his name together.

I sought the Lord, and he answered me;
    he delivered me from all my fears.
Those who look to him are radiant;
    their faces are never covered with shame.
This poor man called, and the Lord heard him;
    he saved him out of all his troubles.
The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him,
    and he delivers them.

Taste and see that the Lord is good;
    blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.
Fear the Lord, you his holy people,
    for those who fear him lack nothing.
10 The lions may grow weak and hungry,
    but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing  

Psalm 34

 image

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #730: Thanksgiving Praise #1

  1. Parson's Creek Press© says:

    Hi, Sarah,   One of those verses, “the Lord encamps…” was especially meaningful to me when I was a young wife. I think maybe I was pregnancy so I didn’t go along, but Paul was with a youth group for a weekend of camping and a horrible storm came up. He was about forty miles south of where I was, but the radio was declaring how bad it was for the campers and that our area, too, needed to be aware. I was especially concerned for Paul and those for whom he was responsible. It was definitely in the days before ‘phones’ for getting in touch with a spouse or family member. Anyway, I was praying a lot and began reading scriptures for peace when my eyes came across that verse. I figured if the Lord was encamped with them, then I could just go to sleep…. which I did. The verse has always been a tender memory of God’s assurance that He has everything under control.   Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. If you are with family I know, please greet them for us.  Margery Kisby Warder, Author/Speaker Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Margery-Kisby-Warder/e/B00GPELE7I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/marge.warder.1

    From: anordinarymiracleday To: mawarder@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, November 20, 2014 9:45 PM Subject: [New post] Gift #730: Thanksgiving Praise #1 #yiv4196080555 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4196080555 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4196080555 a.yiv4196080555primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4196080555 a.yiv4196080555primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4196080555 a.yiv4196080555primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4196080555 a.yiv4196080555primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4196080555 WordPress.com | ordinarymiracletoday posted: “In this week leading up to Thanksgiving, we will be spending our time together reflecting on some Bible passages that reverberate with praise.  It has been hard to narrow them down for this year to fit within a week, but each day from now till Thanksgivin” | |

Leave a Reply

