Gift #760: Christmas Gift

My parents and I had our Christmas celebration this weekend.  When we travel to Texas, it doesn’t make much sense to carry down presents that we’ll just haul back again , so we exchange presents when we’ve returned to Indy and everyone has settled into a routine again.  I wanted to share with you one of the presents I received as it was an incredibly thoughtful gift and a big surprise.

First, a bit of background.  Gregory Maguire is one of my favorite authors.  I list his book Wicked as being one of the most life-changing books I’ve ever read. I’ve written numerous posts on it.  When I saw, via Facebook, that he had a new book out, I was very excited.  A friend read it and liked it pretty well and I was in process of getting a copy from the library.  It came just before the trip to Texas and I’ve been reading it since.  I will probably do a post on it later when I’ve finished and had time to think it over.

So imagine my surprise when I unwrapped my present and saw this!!

image

It’s an autographed copy of his new book!  A copy of my very own for my collection!  I opened up the book to see how Mr. Maguire signs his name and look!!!

image

Wow!  I expected just his name, and he wrote a personalized message.  Apparently his local bookstore had organized his new book release so that you could request him to sign  copies of his book and they’d mail it to you – and my mom had told him to write the first part.  It says ” Dear Sarah – I hope you enjoy reading my new book as much as you did journeying with Elphaba in Wicked  ” Isn’t that sweet?  And of his own accord he sketched the little witch!  I’m in love with the drawing!  It is of Baba Yaga, the famous witch in Russian folklore and one of the main characters of his novel.  She is hatching out of an egg – eggs (and rebirth) are a main theme in this book.  Oh, how I love it!  He wrote “Beware – Witch within this book”.  Ha ha!   And then he signed his name and dated it.

I’m just in awe of this gift.  In part because I hold in my hands something that Gregory Maguire has held and inscribed, and mainly because it is a gift of love from my parents.  They went to a lot of trouble to give me something so personal and meaningful and I will cherish it always.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

