Gift #771: Taos culture

Yesterday I showed some pictures of Taos’ natural beauty.  Today I wanted to focus on the town and architecture that make this city unique.  One of my favorite excursions was with my room-mate to visit St. Francis of Assisi Church.

image

Construction of this church commenced in 1772 – I think this was the first time I’ve seen a structure that pre-dated the Revolution!  A fine example of adobe architecture, it has inspired among the most artistic renderings of any building in the US.  You can see photos of the beautiful interior on wikipedia.

image

My friends and I spent one afternoon in historic Taos.  The town is filled with beautiful carved doors like this one.  They are amazing!

image

While there we were able to walk around Kit Carson’s home and adjacent cemetery where he and his family are buried.

image

We also were able to see the cemetery at the Pueblo reservation, along with the ruins of the original church, San Geronimo de Taos.  This bell tower is the only surviving piece of the church, built in 1620s.

image

And lastly, here are a few pictures of the hotel and conference center that hosted the symposia.  The buildings are beautiful adobe as well.  This is a view overlooking the courtyard.

image

 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift #771: Taos culture

  1. What a beautiful place 😉 Thank you for sharing. I love the sunshine and unusual architecture- Blessings to you, Sarah, WG

  2. . says:

    I blog quite often and I really thank you for your information. The article
    has really peaked my interest. I will take a note of your
    website and keep checking for new details about once per week.

    I opted in for your Feed too.

Leave a comment