Gift #776: Tea

I’ve fallen off the blog bandwagon a bit.  My excuse is that I’ve been fighting a sinus infection for 2 weeks, and although I’m feeling better this week I’m very tired.  It’s been about all I could do some days to drag myself home and eat dinner and then I’d collapse in a heap.  I thought about blogging, but couldn’t work up the energy to type.  I am so thankful for antibiotics!  But not feeling well and having a sore throat ties into today’s gift quite nicely.  One often finds oneself longing for something hot to drink on cold winter’s night, especially with a sore throat and drainage and when one is watching BBC programming.  Drinking hot chocolate in copious quantities didn’t sound appealing and would do nothing beneficial for my waistline, so it was time to turn to other alternatives.

One of my new year resolutions was actually made back in late November – and it was to learn to like tea.  I’m embarrassed to say I cannot stand tea.  I’ve tried a number of different varieties and thought they all tasted like fermented yard clippings.  But I dearly want to like tea.  I love everything about the idea of tea.  I even collect teacups and have a few beautiful teapots.  I can knit tea cozies, I love the tiny silver spoons, I enjoy eating scones or little sandwiches, and I even love looking at and smelling tea.  One of my aspirations in life is to become as British as possible.  So, quite frankly, how can I call myself an Anglophile and not like tea??  It had to change.  By happy coincidence, this Christmas I was gifted with a lovely Downtown Abbey mug.  I also received a tin of Downtown Abbey Christmas tea.  It is a black tea infused with mulling spices.

image

It smells heavenly – warm, spicy, and inviting.  It was now or never.  I’m happy to report that I’ve brewed several cups and am liking it more with each serving.  In fact as I write this, I’m craving a cup.  Right now it’s diluted nearly half with milk and sweetened with a squirt of honey and that’s perfect.  I plan to gradually wean off the milk and learn to drink it straight.  I’m not sure what to do when my tea supply runs out – I’m rather afraid to try others for fear I won’t like them.   On the other hand, now that I’ve discovered I can tolerate tea, I may be thrilled at the world which has opened before me.

image

Who knew what new horizons one could discover at the bottom of teacup?

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #776: Tea

  1. floofymoose says:

    Sarah, your tea sounds like mine a bit. It’s Twinnings Christmas tea and even though it’s seasonal you can order it from their website most of the year.

Leave a Reply

