Gift #782: Spring beginnings

Can you see spring hiding beneath the snow?

image image

No, I can’t either.  But it is there.  Deep in the dark soil, energy that the plant has stored in its root system is slowly being converted into the makings of fresh leaves and flowers.  These plants have been responding to changes in the environment that are so slight as to be imperceptible to us.  Unbeknown to our senses, spring has in fact been occurring in these plants for quite a few weeks.  They don’t look like much now, but in a few more weeks the results of all those tiny changes will be on display for us to see – they will be unrecognizable in their glory compared to their appearance now.

image

The slowness of spring’s awakening is a great encouragement.  Just as I am impatient for spring to come, I also can be very impatient with how slow I am to change.  I’m easily discouraged when I don’t see immediate, dramatic growth in my life.  I long for God’s character to be clearly reflected in my heart, but all to often I just see how short I fall.  But like the plants, change happens slowly – deep in the heart – as truth soaks in and change my mindset – one tiny thought at a time.  It’s hidden from view and most of the time, it happens below the radar of my perception.  I know spring is coming because it is a promise, not because I can see it.  I know my heart is being changed into Christ’s likeness because it is also a promise.  I often cannot feel or see the change, but it is happening.

 

One of my favorite verses in the Bible says “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the Lord rejoices to see the work begin.”  Zech 4:10   God loves small beginnings and gradual change.  It’s how He delights to work – in the changing of the seasons and in the heart as well.

image

Today, take a moment to rejoice over the small beginnings all around you.  Each one is an ordinary miracle in the making.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #782: Spring beginnings

  1. A beautiful post today, Sarah. In so many ways small beginnings are better than big splashy ones. The process is gradual and organic, and more likely to continue successfully 😉 I see the winter garden as you do- a work already in progress. Such lovely photos of the frost! Great warm hugs, WG

Leave a Reply

