Gift #804: Unexpected gifts of spring

Hello everyone!  I’ve been anxiously tracking the progression of spring in our neck of the woods.  Although it’s been a late, slow spring to emerge there is clear progress being made.  I’ve been walking through the courtyard at work and keeping an eye on the gardens and trees there.  Lovely stands of daffodils are in full bloom.  The crocus bloomed briefly and has petered out.  Crabapples are getting tiny green leaves – they’re the color of heaven.  And our trees out front have bloomed into yellow fountains literally overnight.  (I’m ashamed that I do not know their names, but they are lovely).  The true object of my affection in this courtyard however is a stand of tulip trees.  For anyone who has had the privilege of seeing one in bloom, you will understand when I say that there are few sights as beautiful and I’ve been anxiously waiting and calculating when their buds will awaken.  Late last week the buds were fat and tight and pink was seeping through the edges of some of the bracts.

image

This morning most of the bracts have fallen away from the bud and they are very close to opening.  I think tomorrow there will be some in bloom.  On the way out this afternoon I walked by to encourage and admire them.  (Trees respond better when you tell them how lovely they are).  We had wind and rain today and many of the bracts littered the ground.  In my hurry for the blossoms, I nearly overlooked a beautiful gift from the tree!  The bracts are large and velvety.. oh so soft….  I scooped up a handful to bring home.

image

Their hinged appearance reminded me of butterflies.  Enchanting green velvet butterflies.

image

So my lesson for today is don’t be so eager waiting for tomorrow that you forget to enjoy the miracles of today.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #804: Unexpected gifts of spring

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, I love that you shared the lesson of your day, it is a great one! Those bud covers do look like butterflies!

Leave a Reply

