Gift #824: Wilson’s Monument

This was my first visit to Spring Mill State Park in the springtime and it was magnificent!  I took so many pictures of the beautiful forest and wildflowers that I’m having a hard time deciding how to organize them for blog posts.  But for today I’ll show my favorite place in the park.  It is the monument to Alexander Wilson, the famous ornithologist, erected by George Donaldson, who owned the land in the early 1800s.

imageI had no idea that the monument was surrounded by wildflowers inside the wrought iron fence.  On all my other visits the ground has been bare, with just ghosts of vines curling around decaying leaves.  In my mind, I call this “the sacred grove where things fall from the sky year-round”.   In the fall, as when I saw it the very first time, golden leaves slowly flutter down from the trees and land lightly all round.  If you’re lucky, some leaves will land on your hair.  It was here in autumn several years ago that I fell in love with Indiana.  It was a bright autumn day and I’ll never forget the music the leaves whispered in my heart as the wind danced them down from their branches.  During my trip in February I stood here and watched snowfall blanket the ground.  And this past weekend, pollen and little tree bits rained a light patter as we stopped here.  Besides the personal reasons that make this spot so beloved, it’s also a remarkably beautiful grove.

image

The light sets a beautiful stage among the trees.  I like to walk the path in late afternoon when the sun is beginning to set.  If you time it right, you’ll catch the rays of the sun as they slant through the forest and magic is born.

image

Depending on the season, the light makes the forest look like it’s on fire, or covered in diamond dust or wrapped in verdant velvet.

In every season it is lovely.  But to see it for the first time in spring took my breath away.

image

image

If you are interested in the history of the monument, I wrote a blog post about Wilson and Donaldson which you can find here

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #824: Wilson’s Monument

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautifully and lyrically written post, Sarah. Almost as if I was there in person!

Leave a Reply

