Gift #836: Greenhouse

I don’t know about you, but Wednesdays are the hardest day of the week for me.  It’s far enough into the week to be exhausted from the obligations of work and life as the week starts up, but the weekend still seems quite distant.  For reasons I cannot comprehend I’m completely exhausted tonight and can barely find the energy to hold my knitting needles.  I had tried making some cards, but had to give it up because my mind just won’t think.  I tend to get frustrated with myself when a whole night passes and I haven’t accomplished much.  Why is it that we’re so hard-wired to demand productivity all the time?  I’m trying to tell myself that it’s ok to rest and not do anything sometimes, but I’m having a hard time believing it.

image

In such cases when I need to recharge I find it helpful to spend time with plants.  Greenhouses are perfect places to rest and appreciate the beauty and calm of green things.  I visited this one a couple of weekends ago and even though I’m not there in person today, the pictures are still rejuvenating.

This nursery had a wonderful collection of ferns and succulents.  Just look at the spores on this fern!  Aren’t they amazing?

image image

The succulents for sale were stunning too.  I love the wide variety of forms and sizes.  From the very large and dramatic, to the small and diminutive, succulents never fail to impress.

image image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #836: Greenhouse

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    I know that little voice (my mother?) that is always chiding me to produce something. “Idle hands are the devil’s workshop.” I view these thoughts as old programming, to be revised asap! We hear Spirit best when we are quiet. No wonder you feel at peace among the quiet of plants! Me, too!

Leave a Reply

