Gift #843: Tide Pool Earrings

One more jewelry post for today and then I promise we’ll do something different for the weekend.  I stumbled onto a new blog a few weeks ago called Earrings Everyday, which features an earring design each day from some very talented jewelry designers.  They also run a monthly challenge called “We’re all Ears” – isn’t that a cute name? – and this month’s theme was tidal pools.  I really wanted to participate in this challenge because it dovetails nicely with my monthly calendar jewelry theme (spoiler alert: it’s a beachy theme).  So today you’ll get a sneak preview of the earrings, which I’m submitting tomorrow on the blog hop here.  I’m still working on the necklace and I’ll show the completed set sometime later.  Without further ado, here are the earrings I designed.

 

image

I found some seashell charms at Michaels on clearance and bought several to use for my jewelry this month.  I paired the charms with silver hoops and some aqua stones and czech glass.  Aqua is a favorite of mine and I love using it for summer designs.  These reminded me of frothy seawater spilling over rocks – I like the rivulets of brown moving through the stones.  To tie the design together, I added a bit of copper wire mesh.  This is really neat material because you can mold and shape it in undulating patterns by pulling the mesh wider.  It called to mind strands of seaweed you’d find in tidal pools, tangling around shells and driftwood.

The artwork featured on the blog to whet our inspiration was quite appealing.  I love scientific illustrations of this sort of vintage.

 illustration by Hashime Murayama Hashime Murayama was a Japanese illustrator, born in 1879. He used to work for National Geographic until 1941.

illustration by Hashime Murayama
Hashime Murayama was a Japanese illustrator, born in 1879. He used to work for National Geographic until 1941.

 illustration by Theo Carreras Theo Carreras was an illustrator of some well known books about insects, like "Marvels of Insect Life," and was known for his detailed still-life illustrations

illustration by Theo Carreras
Theo Carreras was an illustrator of some well known books about insects, like “Marvels of Insect Life,” and was known for his detailed still-life illustrations

illustration by Theo Carreras

illustration by Theo Carreras

This was a fun challenge to start and I hope to participate again in the coming months.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gift #843: Tide Pool Earrings

  1. Lovely design. I love that copper mesh, it looks like fishing net and so in keeping with the challenge. Aqua is one of my favourite colours too…xx

  2. Beautiful design. Intensely creative. Love them.

  3. Alice says:

    Oh I just love these!!!!! so beautiful and the colors are just perfect

  4. Tammy Adams says:

    Very inventive. I really like how you incorporated the copper wire mesh. Beautiful.

  5. Terri G. says:

    Love the selection of components and the use of the wire ribbon! Awesome!

  6. oksana says:

    Sarah, the charms are so adorable. Love your earrings — they will be fun to wear!

  7. Kym Hunter says:

    Very pretty earrings! I love the components and the wire mess is perfect. Great earrings for summer!

  8. Lovely! Would so wear them out for a night on the town. Great Job!

  9. Sarajo Wentling says:

    Glad you played along this month! These are really fun… I like the asymmetry and the copper wire mesh is a smart and interesting addition.

  10. tesoritrovati4800 says:

    Well hello, Miss Sarah! I am so glad you stumbled on our little blog and that you jumped in with the challenge! I love to see how a variety of designers from around the world interpret an inspiration. That bit of copper mesh in the background really elevates this design. It really does feel like these are creatures that have washed ashore and live in teeming colonies in tiny puddles of water! So happy you joined us and we look forward to seeing what you do for the future challenges. Check back on July 3rd for the next We’re All Ears challenge on Earrings Everyday. Enjoy the day! Erin

  11. Pingback: Gift #893: Tidepools | anordinarymiracleday

Leave a Reply

