Gift #850: One Short Day

Today we spent one short day in the Emerald City… meaning, we went to see…

image

Yes, Wicked is playing in Denver this year!  I was beyond thrilled when I discovered that Wicked would be there during the time we usually visit.   Wicked and Denver are entertwined in my heart.  It was when I lived in Denver that I first read the story of Elphaba, obtaining a copy from my local library because I didn’t want to buy a book I wasn’t sure I’d like.  (if I’d only known!!)  And it was in Denver that I saw the show for the very first time 8 years ago.  Today I was able to see it again in the very same building where it had captivated my imagination and heart to begin with.  I’ve seen the show many times, but there was something very special about seeing it today in my very own “Emerald City” of Denver.

image

There was an unexpected treat in today’s viewing as well.  In the cast listing above, I had seen a familiar name before the show, but dismissed it as happenstance because it is rather a common name.  But when the Wizard of Oz made his first appearance and the audience clapped – I knew the name I recognized was really him!  He has changed quite a bit over the years, but his mannerisms and voice were the same as the actor I’ve known since childhood.  Our Wizard was played by none other than John Davidson!  He’s not a household name, but he’s done a lot of theater and I knew him from the films he did with Disney back in the 1960s.  One of the earliest movies I remember watching was The Happiest Millionaire – I loved it as a child, and even now it is one of my favorites.  It’s the story of a Philadelphian family in the 1910s and John Davidson stars as the love interest for the daughter in the family.  I never in my wildest dreams ever imagined that I would see any cast member from that film with my own eyes!  But there he was – and seeing him live was probably the sweetest moment of the show for me.  I’ll never watch Happiest Millionaire  the same way again.

It was a great show and a great day!

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

