Gift #858: Changed in Denver

As has become tradition, I’ll say goodbye to Denver with a song.  This one is especially meaningful to this trip because it comes from the musical Wicked.  As I mentioned earlier, my ties between Denver and Wicked are close because it was here that I was introduced to the book and musical and I had the privilege of seeing it again this year.   The song is sung between Glinda and Elphaba as they say goodbye and reaffirm the influence their relationship has had on their lives.  It’s a beautiful tribute to the way I feel about Denver because it molded and formed me into the person I’ve become.

I’ve heard it said,
That people come into our lives
For a reason
Bringing something we must learn.
And we are led to those
Who help us most to grow if we let them.
And we help them in return.
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you.

image

Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun,
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood.
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better
But because I knew you.
I have been changed for good.

image

It well may be
That we will never meet again
In this lifetime.
So, let me say before we part:
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you.
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart.
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have rewritten mine
By being my friend.

IMG_0580

Like a ship blown from it’s mooring
By a wind off the sea.
Like a seed dropped by a skybird
In a distant wood.
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better
But because I knew you…

Because I knew you…

I have been changed for good.

image

Denver, your mountains and meadows, forests and rivers, flora and fauna, culture and attitudes have left your fingerprints all over my heart.  And I’m forever grateful that you have changed me for good.  Farewell for another year, and until I see your beautiful face again, I love you.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

