Gift #872: Stampaway 2015

I spent a long wonderful weekend in Cincinnati, so I wasn’t blogging for a few days.  But today I thought I’d share some of the highlights of the trip.

IMG_0998Well, there’s the trip in a nutshell!  (Just kidding, there were other things too).  I went to Cinci for the Stampaway Rubber Stamp Convention.  This is a very exciting time since most of the vendors that come I only see once a year during this convention.  It’s chock full of stamps, supplies, samples, inspiration – everything!! The gentleman above is Tim Holtz, whose name is a legend in the stamping community.  He’s one of the premier designers of stamps and supplies and is in great demand.  He comes once every couple of years and I’ve been privileged to take a couple of his classes.  He has taught me so much about stamping (through the classes, demos, and mostly his blog) and more than that, he has inspired me to pursue beauty and curiosity.  I owe so much of my creative soul to his influence and guidance.  He wasn’t advertised as attending this year, but I turned the corner into the demo booth and there he was!

IMG_0994See the master at work!  Time stopped and I watched him for a long time, watching him weave magic over white pieces of paper as they turned into beautiful works of art.  The man is incredible!  I love watching his hands as he moved ink around the paper and stamps and adds embellishments.  He’s very giving with his time and experience and so any time you can spend in his company is well invested.  It was wonderful to see him again and be inspired all over again.  Just watching him makes my fingers itch to stamp, experiment, and play.

image

I bought quite a few things at his booth – floral stamps, some nature rub-ons, metal dies for sitting out shapes, inks and paints, and … his new book!  The book is Compendium of Curiosities Vol III and is full of great techniques and projects.

And then I had my most precious moment of the convention…

image

A personal conversation with Tim and he wrote an inscription in my book.  Now it’s a treasured keepsake and a reminder to explore curiosity.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

