Gift #893: Tidepools

A thin net of flotsam is spread over the beaches… It is a fabric of strange composition, woven with tireless energy by wind and wave and tide.   Caught in the strands fo dry beach grass and seaweeds there are crab claws and bits of sponge, scarred and broken mollusk shells, old spares crusted with growths, the bones of fishes, the feathers of birds.  In the litter and debris of the beach there may be few living creatures, but there is the suggestion, the intimation of a million, million lives, lived in the sands nearby or brought to this pace from far sea distances.  – Rachel Carson, The Edge of the Sea

image

Like the sea itself, the shore fascinates us who return to it.  In the recurrent rhythms of tides and surf and in the varied life of the tide lines there is the obvious attraction of movement and change and beauty.  When we go down to the low-tide line, we enter a world that is as old as the earth itself – the primeval meeting place of the elements of earth and water, place of compromise and conflict and eternal change.   –  Rachel Carson, The Edge of the Sea

image

I realized that I hadn’t posted my calendar jewelry efforts for a couple of months, so today we have June and July together.  Both had a sea theme and seemed to fit as a unit together.  I’ve loved the quotes above for a long time – they are part of a beautiful seashell exhibit at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science.  I liked how well they blended with Vikki Chu’s artwork and I tried to incorporate the feel into my jewelry pieces.  And now on to June’s jewelry.

image

This necklace went through several incarnations.  Before my trip to Denver, I had made some earrings (blogged on here) and I was trying to design a necklace using the same beads, with the idea of moving from dark aqua to pale green, as the artwork does.  I also was trying to incorporate the copper netting and more of the sea-life charms.  But the layout wasn’t working – the netting was messy, there were too many colors, etc – so I went back to square one.  I switched out my polished beads for these earthy stones I had purchased a while back.  They fit the color scheme and I love the reticulated tan veining along their surface because it looked like something from a tidepool.  I fashioned a pendant by wiring silver hoops together, reminiscent of the bubbling at the surface of tidepools.  I incorporated some pale green glass beads and tiny wood chips along the body of the necklace and am much happier with it now that it has a natural organic feel about it.

image

I redid the earrings to better match the necklace.  They aren’t as fussy now and the color scheme is calmer and focused.
I got excited with the set and fashioned a bracelet too!  I used up my last sea charm as a focal on chain and also layered on some beads in the same arrangement as the necklace.  I made it adjustable so it can work as a bracelet or anklet.

image

July’s artwork presented more of a challenge because I didn’t care for the blue/red color scheme and I didn’t particularly want to make a lobster set of jewelry.  So I kept the ocean theme, but altered the colors more to my style.

image

I found the coral piece on clearance at Michaels, but it was a bright gold.  I repainted it with subdued tones of rust, aqua, tan, and cream – so there’s a hint of the artwork’s color scheme.  I paired the pendant with a charm and hung it from chain and pieces of shell.  I especially like the word “thrive” on the necklace because it reminds me of the fragility and perseverance of life and it seemed appropriate to pair with the coral.  Here’s a closeup of the pendant.

image

The earrings were also made from components found on clearance.  I repainted over the starfish to match the pendant and added pearls.

image

I hope you enjoyed the (belated) look back at the summer months.  Now onwards to autumn!

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

