Gift #907: October Artist Feature

I know I say this every month, but I don’t know where the time went!  I suppose at this point I should stop being surprised by the end of the month catching me by surprise.  It seems it does this on a predictable basis.  October has been a beautiful month full of wonderful autumn days.  It’s my favorite month and I can’t believe we’ll be winding down to Nov 1st this week!

image

So that means it’s time for our artist feature from Marjolein Bastin.  If you’re new to the blog, I highlight an artist’s work each month over the course of the year and we experience the changing of seasons through the artist’s brush.  The selection of paintings this year are taken from a collection of Marjolein Bastin’s calendars.  Aren’t calendars a great source of art?   I love that they are functional and then once the year is over you can frame the prints and have a whole gallery of art for just the cost of a calendar!  I’ve been able to collect art this way from several of my favorite artists.  Or the old calendars work well as an oversized flip-book too.

image

Back to the October paintings… the color of choice in these watercolors is yellow.  The paintings are just saturated with it, and in this way, they very closely mimic the scenes outside the window.  Yellow has been the dominant color this fall, paired beautifully with shocks of burgundy and decaying brown hues. The artwork at the beginning is my favorite because the bright blue of the birds is so striking against the mellow warmer tones – just like fall leaves against an azure blue sky on a bright autumn afternoon.  As in the paintings, birds have been busy at the feeders fattening up on lots of seeds for upcoming winter.  We’re transitioning over to our winter populations and our goldfinches have darkened considerably.  Hummingbirds have said goodbye, but soon there will be juncos and they are good friends too.

image

I hope you are enjoying the colors of autumn this week!

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #907: October Artist Feature

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    MB is one of my favorite artists – her work is exquisite. One can just lose themselves in her watercolors.

Leave a Reply

