Gift #914: Falling leaves

A wind has blown the rain away and blown the sky away and all the leaves away, and the trees stand. I think, I too, have known autumn too long.”  E.E. Cummings

image

I don’t think it’s possible to have known autumn too long.   Personally,  I don’t think a whole lifetime of autumns would satiate my love for the season or cause it to become mundane.  However, I like the feel of the quote and the way it captures the melancholy that sets in when the leaves have fallen.

image

When it reaches this point when most all the leaves are crumbling on the ground, I spend lots of time looking at the pictures taken during the riotous beauty of autumn.  These recently fallen leaves littered the forest floor and streams of Spring Mill State Park.  I’m especially fond of how the leaves floated down the stream like hundreds of sparkly boats.  I imagine that at night the leaf-boats are ridden by parties of playful mice celebrating the autumn full moon and feasting on seeds and mushrooms.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

