Gift #928: Anticipating Advent

 

 

Today I pretended I was a migratory bird as I made my way south to spend Christmas with my family in Texas.  It’s a toss-up whether the birds or I made faster time, but the trip only took 14 or so hours.  I got a fair amount of knitting done, and a few naps when I got too car-sick to knit or watch the landscape go by.  After all the busyness of the last few days with trying to get everything ready for the trip and then the long hours of travel, it’s a wonderful gift to just be still and rest.

In many ways, that’s what the season of Advent is – a call to rest.  It’s an invitation to linger at the stable, to gaze into the face of God made man.  It’s to grasp the tiny hands of a baby and find yourself upheld by the strong hands of a Savior.  I’d like to invite you to join me for a few minutes each day leading up to Christmas as we explore the praises of Advent.  The coming of the Christ-child was heralded with praise from more than the angels. I hope your hearts will be blessed as together we listen to these myriad voices of praise and find place for our own song this Advent.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift #928: Anticipating Advent

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Hope you enjoy your visit with family. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

