Gift #941: Flowers in winter

To find a flower in winter is a rare and precious thing.  To my mind, it is of greater value than finding a diamond in the snow.  I’ve been having a hard time with the winter weather – it’s been very grey since I returned home and nearly all of nature seems to be slumbering, except for the squirrels and hardy songbirds.  I was thinking of how wonderful it would be to see flowers again and thinking about bringing orchids into my home.  (I dislike orchids most of the time and only feel fondly about them in the dead of winter when there are no other flowers)   It was getting pretty desperate and I decided today to check on the hellebore garden.

image

To my utter amazement and delight, many of the hellebores were growing and prodigiously producing buds!!!   Now hellebores are called “Christmas roses” and will bloom in the cold winter, but my plants didn’t bud at all last winter – they acted like all the other plants in the garden and didn’t produce any buds till about May.  So I wasn’t expecting anything miraculous when I went to see them.  But they were there – full of buds and flowers just when I needed them so desperately!

image

I’ve mentioned frequently that these are my very favorite flowers and part of the reason I’m so enchanted with them is that they bloom in conditions when very few other flowers do, thereby making their beauty all the more precious.  God knew that we would need color and sweetness in the cold midwinter and these lovely little flowers feel just like a gift from Him.

image

They are a promise that spring will come; that flowers and green and leaves will fill the earth again.  In the meantime, I will content myself in loving and admiring the Christmas rose and being thankful that God provides for all our needs, including flowers in winter.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #941: Flowers in winter

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    My hellebores budded up, too, fooled by the warm December. Now they are all frozen beneath the crust. I hope they’ll survive. Yours are lovely!

Leave a Reply

