Gift #968: Tree Stumps

This was not a stellar week for blogging.  I’m not quite sure what to say about it except that it seems to have been a “perfect storm” of late nights, headaches, and website problems.  But hopefully I’ll get my act together and post more in the coming week.

Anyway, as I contemplate what to talk about, I find it’s really hard to think of anything but Gustave Baumann.  I’ve been immersed in his art and life for so many weeks and have written quite a few blog posts on him that it seems strange to think of writing about anything else.  I still spend my days dreaming about his work and the other day I caught sight of another artist’s block print and it looked a bit like Baumann’s – enough to make me sad that his work isn’t hanging on the walls of the museum anymore.  But I am trying to move along and find other things to be thankful for and share on my blog posts.  Part of the trouble too is that the weather is at that awkward stand-still moment where pyschologically I’m done with winter, but the landscape isn’t on board with spring.  So as we wait for the “Great Verdure” to arrive, I thought I’d share a few pictures from Spring Mill State Park.

image

 

I find holes in trees ridiculously fascinating.  This goes back to when I was about 4-5 and remember finding a tree with a hole in its base in the school playground.  I hid all sorts of little treasures in it – my favorite rocks, acorns, more rocks, berries…  I think I must be part squirrel.  Apparently the ardor has not waned because nearly everytime I see a tree with a hole in it I must take a picture.  This is one of my favorite trees and I photograph it on every visit.

image

I also am fond of tree stumps.  I like to imagine little fairies dancing on them in the moonlight.  Or maybe squirrels would  use them as their base for games of tag.  Tree stumps make up an important part of the forest ecoystem.  They provide a substrate for lichen and toadstools to release their nutrients back into the soil.  And the insects and grubs are a protein-rich food for birds and other animals.  Plus, mosses and ferns tend to grow around their base making a beautiful scene.

image

I hope you enjoy the weekend.  We’re expecting a brief warm-up for the next few days and I’m looking forward to it.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift #968: Tree Stumps

  1. raphaela99 says:

    Hoping you feel much better now. xxx

  2. Eliza Waters says:

    I’m with you on tree trunks and hidey holes of the faerie folk, the mossier the better!
    I wonder if you could contact the museum curator and ask/recommend a permanent exhibit of Baumann’s work? It might be worth a letter/email. You could possibly sway them by dint of your passionate love for his work!

Leave a Reply

