Gift #977: Orchids

I think I had mentioned that my mom and I ended up at the Art Museum, quite unplanned on Saturday.  I had been avoiding it since the Gustave Baumann exhibit is gone-  it seemed too painful to go back knowing he wouldn’t be there (yes, I’m still in withdrawal, and no, I don’t anticipate it letting up anytime this year).  But at the same time, I missed it because I had been spending so much time there during the winter months.  As it turned out, we were driving right past it and my mom voiced an interest in seeing the orchid exhibit which was ending that weekend.  So we dropped right in and headed for the greenhouse.

image

It was a lovely exhibit.  I did not expect it to be so well designed.  Orchids don’t rank among my favorite flowers, but by this time of year I’m not picky and I’m desperate to see anything floral.  They had a great selection of orchids (they were shipped in from all over the world!) and I’ll show more pictures of them later.

image

This post shows some photos from the main display.  It was this huge stone pedestal filled with orchids, moss, and bryophytes, and all sorts of lovely plants.  The sweetest moment of the show happened while I was standing here taking pictures of the botanical delight.   A little girl squealed and moved towards the display and, completely oblivious to the orchids said, “look at the beautiful moss Mommy!”  Oh, girl after my own heart!  And yes, the moss was lovely.  The orchids were too.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #977: Orchids

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Looks like a nice exhibit, Sarah. At this time of year, I always welcome the orchid and bulb shows as I am so starved of flowers and growing things!

Leave a Reply

