Gift #990: Orchids again

Last month I promised to show you more orchid pictures from the exhibit at the art museum that my mom and I attended.  I thought that would be a good post for today since I don’t have much in the way of my own spring flowers.  This oversight is due in part to fighting the sinus infection and also due to a mix-up in weather communications that have made it unclear what season we’re moving into.  Frost has damaged quite a few blooms and those that remain are confused and vulnerable… and quite frankly… spring has been put on hold here.  So we’re headed back to the greenhouse!

image

This actually comes at a good time because my calendar art I’ve been making jewelry from for the month of March featured orchids and moths and seeing the orchid exhibit made me really want to work on the jewelry.  It has been fiddly and I just finished up the necklace yesterday.  I still need to make a pair of earrings – just as soon as I find my energy reserves.  And then I must be off into April’s challenge – because this month’s calendar print is full of bright colors and birds!!  Yay!  But back to orchids…

image

I was really impressed with the selection of orchids on display.  Although not a favorite, you can’t help but be amazed by the variety that natural and selective adaptation.  For centuries, breeders have been drawing out infinitesimal little quirks in the orchids – and creating entire groups of plants as a result.  Even in natural environments, orchids are remarkable for their abilities to morph with their pollinators, drawing on cues of scent, pattern, and color, to draw pollinators to their blooms.  We saw moth orchids, which resemble the winged insects… and we saw ladyslipper orchids, a fascinating flower.  It would be a bucket-list event to see one in the wild!

image

Admiring these flowers reminded me once again of how much God loves variety in His creation too.   What beautiful plants and animals He has filled the world with!  All are unique and all are filled with the ordinary miracles of life.. .just waiting to take our breath away with delight.

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #990: Orchids again

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    So many different kinds of orchids – such beauties! I esp. love the last one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

