Gift #997: First Blush of Spring

April has come to a close and that means it’s time to review the Art Bead Scene challenge of the month.  Our artwork for April was called “Jacob’s Ladder” by Helen Frankenthaler, 1957.

I’m most definitely not a fan of abstract art and I don’t really have anything to say about this painting other than it looks like someone flung paint on a canvas and I like the colors. I was working on a piece leftover from March that I submitted for this challenge -I’ll try to blog about that later.   I had been wanting to make a piece in soft pinks and green and this painting gave me the excuse to work on a design.  I had collected several beads from my favorite designer Heather Powers in destash sales from earlier this year.  One of the sets she sent contained a beautiful dogwood blossom pendant.  I had purchased a muted pink bird from her in hopes it would match the pendant and I also had a green leaf pendant that I liked with the set.Here’s the necklace I made with her beads

image

I softned up the leaf with a bit of white paint and finished off the design with some green agate beads that I got at the bead show incorporated into the chain.  I had a pair of olive green beads with brown and white swirls that Heather gave me as a freebie with an order.  They looked like tiny tree branches woven across the center of the beads and were a perfect match with the necklace and just the right size for earrings.  I paired them with some brass and antiqued silver leaves and a tiny pink czech glass bead.

image

I’m ridiculously pleased with how this set came out.  I get happy feelings just looking at them and thinking about spring.  I love the soft colors and the strong nature imagery.  It looks just as if the first glories of spring are captured to wear all year long.

Blessings to you,

Sarah

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #997: First Blush of Spring

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    They turned out beautifully, Sarah, and they really do reflect the celebration of spring.

Leave a Reply

