Gift #1075: Orchid Fever

Hello everyone and welcome officially to spring.  Here in my neck of the woods, it’s spring in name only.  The outdoors hasn’t got the message.  Our blast of cooler weather continues and I walked outside today through the shredded, brown remains of what should have been our spring flowers.  I’m trying not to be bitter about this, but let’s just say my acceptance of the loss hasn’t been graceful.  I am grateful that it’s only been a few trees that had budded, so I hope that we’ll still have flowers later this spring.  Maybe even for my birthday next month!  Since I don’t have any spring pictures to show you, I’ve been reminiscing of the orchid exhibit – the bright colors and the warm greenhouses.  I’ll share some more photos of the beautiful plants they had to whet our desires for spring.

 

Earlier this week at work I went upstairs and found an orchid at home in a corner of the hallway.   I was so surprised to see one and delighted to find a friendly floral face.  That got me thinking about how it would be to have an orchid as a room-mate.  I think they would be pretty well-mannered, but I have my doubts as to how well they could tolerate without much sun.  Anyway, it was a pleasant thought to daydream of filling the house with them.  And how far I’ve come – from disliking the flowers to now wanting to own some.  Perhaps the great orchid fever still rages… (or it may just be a budding sinus infection, it’s hard to tell at this stage. Ha!)  Happy Spring all!

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #1075: Orchid Fever

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful specimens! I hope they make up for the loss with your frost damage. Sadly, a lot of plants got caught out when the weather turned. 😦

Leave a Reply

