Gift #1100: Days in Colorado

Yesterday I came back from my beautiful Colorado.  I’ve spent most of the day reminiscing over the trip and looking at pictures to make sure that it really happened.  I tend to be hit hard with post-vacation blues and it’s difficult to readjust to life without the mountains before my eyes.  I miss it so much.  I try hard to memorize every moment and store it all in my heart to carry with me the rest of my life.  Little things… like the way the wind sounds when it blows through the pines, the way the aspen leaved dance in sunlight, the voice of the mountain streams and how they’re all different, the glimmer of rocks after an afternoon shower…  These are the memories I cherish most.

 

image

Bear Creek at Lair o’ the Bear Park

 

 

image

Aspen tree and wildflowers at Georgetown 

 

We were able to do so much and I’m very grateful for our time there.  We visited mountain parks, both old favorites and new ones, we spent time at the museum and gardens, we savored our favorite fish tacos and chile rellenos, we ate ice cream at night, we soaked up rain and drowned in the sunshine.  We loved every minute that each day brought us.  I remind myself that it is that attitude of finding joy and delighting in beauty each day that makes life worth living, wherever I may be.  The lessons I learned in Colorado give me a way to remember and honor my home even when I’m not physically there and remind me to appreciate what God has given me now.   Each today we have is a precious gift from God and learning to live in the moment, in the “now” has been a long lesson for me.  It’s hard to keep my mind and heart centered on today and not wander off to the nostalgia of yesterday or the opportunities of tomorrow.  But today is unique, because it’s in that fraction of time that our lives touch eternity.  It’s in the now that we commune with God and each other, where we receive grace and forgiveness, and where we find our life.  The memories that we make today can comfort and sustain us in days when it’s not as bright and remind us that God is faithful for our tomorrows.

 

image

Denver Botanic Gardens 

 

It’s typical of me to say goodbye to Colorado with a song that holds special significance for that trip.  While I was there, I enjoyed several of my favorites drifting through my mind as I wandered through my favorite places, but this one pressed most on my heart.

I’ll be a dandy, and I’ll be a rover
You’ll know who I am by the songs that I sing
I’ll feast at your table, I’ll sleep in your clover
Who cares what tomorrow shall bring

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine
I’ll taste your strawberries and I’ll drink your sweet wine
A million tomorrows shall all pass away
Ere I forget all the joy that is mine, today

I can’t be contented with yesterday’s glory
I can’t live on promises winter to spring
Today is my moment and right now is my story
I’ll laugh and I’ll cry and I’ll sing

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine
I’ll taste your strawberries and I’ll drink your sweet wine
A million tomorrows shall all pass away
Ere I forget all the joy that is mine, today

 

image

Wild raspberries on the trail

 

This sweet song is a favorite of mine that I first heard many, many years ago in Colorado.  It’s always reminded me of long summer days full of sun and green grass and pure simple joy – all that Colorado is to me.  It beautifully expresses the attitude I’m working to cultivate – one of living life with open hands, not clinging to what I had, but delighting in each thing that God brings to me, being blessed by His gifts all around, and remembering that today is from Him.  So today I will be thankful for all I experienced in Colorado and I will rejoice that I have two homes I love, and a million tomorrows will ere pass away before I forget all the joy that I’ve known.  I love you Colorado.

 

image

Thistles at O’Fallon Park

 

 

image

Mountain Meadow at Mt. Falcon

 

Blessings to you,

Sarah

Addendum:  I had already chosen this song for my Colorado goodbye, but saw this evening that Glen Campbell had passed away.  He recorded this song and it seemed a fitting tribute for him as well.  Goodbye Glen: thank you for making the world more beautiful with your voice.  We will miss you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #1100: Days in Colorado

  1. Adam says:

    So beautiful. It must have been written with love.

Leave a Reply

