Gift #920: Thanksgiving Hymn #5

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  I’m never quite ready to say goodbye to this holiday because it means that beloved fall is officially gone.  In keeping with family tradition, I steadfastly refuse to budge from home on day after Thanksgiving.  I spent the day slowly easing into Christmas and enjoying quiet.  I tend to view the day as an extension of Thanksgiving, so we’ll have one last thankful song for today.  “The Lord is Good to Me” is considered Johnny Appleseed’s song, although I’m still not clear if it was a song contemporary with his life.  I’ve only heard it in the Disney short about Johnny Appleseed.  It’s a sweet, simple song and I thought it would be perfect to end Thanksgiving week.

IMG_3308Oh, the Lord’s been good to me.
And so I thank the Lord
For giving me the things I need:
The sun, the rain and the appleseed;
Oh, the Lord’s been good to me.

Oh, and every seed I sow
Will grow into a tree.
And someday there’ll be apples there
For everyone in the world to share.
Oh, the Lord is good to me.

IMG_3309
Oh, here I am ‘neath the blue, blue sky
Doing as I please.
Singing with my feathered friends
Humming with the bees.

I wake up every day,
As happy as can be,
Because I know that with His care
My apple trees, they will still be there.
The Lord’s been good to me.

The pictures are some of the Thanksgiving cards I made this year.  They seemed to fit with the happy tone of the song.   I was able to get two really big, important projects wrapped up and off my to-do list today, so I’m going to celebrate with a mug of cider and some quality knitting time.  I hope you all are warm and contented this weekend.

IMG_3307Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gift #920: Thanksgiving Hymn #5

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Your cards are beautiful! I, too, like to stay close to home. Shopping madness is not for me!

Leave a Reply

