Gift #426: Hummingbird Moth

This afternoon there was a sighting of my favorite insect – the hummingbird moth!  It’s the first one I’ve seen this season.  She (or he) was flitting about the flowers on the deck feeding on summer-ripened nectar.  They are amazing little insects!  They glitter like flying emeralds and look just like tiny hummingbirds  – even their wings beat as fast and in the same way as the birds.  But they are really a type of sphinx moth.  They are so beautiful and I find them mesmerizing to watch.  Of course as soon as I spotted it,  ran for my camera and tried to get some photos.  This is a lot more difficult than it sounds, because they are high-energy insects and they don’t stay in one place for more than a second or two.  Plus, their wings are always moving and their backs are green – so they blend in with the plants.  However, I did get a few good shots to share with you, and I think you’ll agree that she (or he) is lovely.  I’m so happy to have received a visit today from this special winged creature.

image

image

image

Blessings to you,

Sarah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gift #426: Hummingbird Moth

  1. Pingback: Moth Wall | Photomiser

Leave a comment